Chicken Noodle Soup (again)

It’s still soup weather. As I stated before, I’m a lazy cook. And soup that involved broth – I always thought it was super complicated and involved boiling chickens and bones and all sorts of things. Then, I made this about 2 weeks ago, forgot to take pictures, but because the weather is so *ugh* I decided to make it again! It really couldn’t be simpler – even for non-cooks!

  • Water (a big pot full, no really any need to measure)
  • Bouillon cubes (I used 3 chicken cubes and 1 vegetable cube)
  • Bag of “soup vegetable mix” from Lidl (for real, I think this was only £0.69!!! It has potatoes, carrots, and leeks)
  • Leftover chicken from a roast chicken I’d made the night before
  • 1 “ball” of thin egg noodles I had in the pantry (use any sort of pasta you have)
  • 1-2tsp of plain flour (if you want a thicker broth)

Dump the bouillon cubes and vegetables in the stockpot, simmer until the vegetables are tender. (I did this on the lowest flame possible on my stove, for maybe an hour?)

Then add the chicken and simmer for another 15-20min. About 10min or so before you’re ready to serve it, add the noodles. Voila! Easy peasy!

Now, depending on how much water you did/didn’t put in the pot initially, you may need to add more water if it boils down too much and ends up too thick. If you want your broth a bit thicker, add a teaspoon or two of plain flour.

Leave a Reply

